← Voltar ao feed

Paylogix ransomware breach exposes data of 41,739 people; three other US healthcare entities disclose separate breaches

1 fonte(s) · 1 atualização(ões) · publicado 27/10/2026 13:53 · coletado há 5 dias

Paylogix LLC, a New York-based third-party administrator and SaaS provider for voluntary employee benefits, notified HHS OCR that a breach affected 41,739 individuals. An unauthorized party accessed its network from November 13 to November 18, 2025, and copied files containing personal and protected health information. The article says the incident appears to be an attack by the Akira ransomware group, which claimed to have exfiltrated 185 GB of data. The attribution is not stated in the notification letters. The same report covers three unrelated breaches: the Kenaitze Indian Tribe (9,319 individuals), the Center for Bone and Joint Surgery of the Palm Beaches (5,461) and Wichita Family Dental (1,273).

Detalhes técnicos

  • Paylogix: the exposed data included dates of birth, Social Security numbers and voluntary benefit information. A subset of individuals also had credentials, electronic signatures, financial account information, health insurance information, medical information, passport numbers, taxpayer IDs and/or alien ID numbers exposed.
  • Kenaitze Indian Tribe (Alaska): suspicious activity was detected on July 27, 2026, and the intruder had network access from July 16 to July 27, 2026. Exposed data included names, dates of birth, SSNs, driver's license/state ID numbers, financial account numbers, health insurance information and medical information. Notifications began on September 25, 2026.
  • Center for Bone and Joint Surgery of the Palm Beaches (Florida): suspicious activity on its website was identified on July 27, 2026. Certain website forms may have been compromised, exposing names, contact details, appointment requests and voluntarily provided form information. The investigation found no proof that data was obtained or misused.
  • Wichita Family Dental (Kansas): an employee email account was accessed without authorization around May 4, 2026, and the review finished on July 6, 2026. The account held names, addresses, dates of birth, SSNs, driver's license numbers, taxpayer IDs, payment card and financial account data, health insurance information and dental records.

Remediação

  • The Center for Bone and Joint Surgery removed the affected website forms and strengthened its security.
  • Wichita Family Dental secured the compromised account and improved email security.
  • No specific remediation is described for Paylogix or the Kenaitze Indian Tribe.

Linha do tempo

  1. hipaajournal.com ↗ · pub. 27/10/2026 13:53 · coletado 27/10 15:01 primeiro registro

    Paylogix ransomware breach exposes data of 41,739 people; three other US healthcare entities disclose separate breaches

    ler a análise desta fonte

    Paylogix LLC, a New York-based third-party administrator and SaaS provider for voluntary employee benefits, notified HHS OCR that a breach affected 41,739 individuals. An unauthorized party accessed its network from November 13 to November 18, 2025, and copied files containing personal and protected health information. The article says the incident appears to be an attack by the Akira ransomware group, which claimed to have exfiltrated 185 GB of data. The attribution is not stated in the notification letters. The same report covers three unrelated breaches: the Kenaitze Indian Tribe (9,319 individuals), the Center for Bone and Joint Surgery of the Palm Beaches (5,461) and Wichita Family Dental (1,273).

    Technical Details

    • Paylogix: the exposed data included dates of birth, Social Security numbers and voluntary benefit information. A subset of individuals also had credentials, electronic signatures, financial account information, health insurance information, medical information, passport numbers, taxpayer IDs and/or alien ID numbers exposed.
    • Kenaitze Indian Tribe (Alaska): suspicious activity was detected on July 27, 2026, and the intruder had network access from July 16 to July 27, 2026. Exposed data included names, dates of birth, SSNs, driver's license/state ID numbers, financial account numbers, health insurance information and medical information. Notifications began on September 25, 2026.
    • Center for Bone and Joint Surgery of the Palm Beaches (Florida): suspicious activity on its website was identified on July 27, 2026. Certain website forms may have been compromised, exposing names, contact details, appointment requests and voluntarily provided form information. The investigation found no proof that data was obtained or misused.
    • Wichita Family Dental (Kansas): an employee email account was accessed without authorization around May 4, 2026, and the review finished on July 6, 2026. The account held names, addresses, dates of birth, SSNs, driver's license numbers, taxpayer IDs, payment card and financial account data, health insurance information and dental records.

    Remediation

    • The Center for Bone and Joint Surgery removed the affected website forms and strengthened its security.
    • Wichita Family Dental secured the compromised account and improved email security.
    • No specific remediation is described for Paylogix or the Kenaitze Indian Tribe.