UK Legal Aid Agency breach found to include records back to 1978 and HMPPS probation data
The UK government has disclosed that the April 2025 breach of the Legal Aid Agency (LAA) was larger than first reported. Around 250,000 stolen records predate 2007, with the oldest dating to 1978. The LAA had initially said the stolen data covered applications, claims and payments from 2007 onward. The Ministry of Justice (MoJ) also found that the attackers accessed HM Prison and Probation Service (HMPPS) data on offenders supervised between 2010 and 2017. The government says it has no indication that the data has been published or shared, and the article does not attribute the attack to any actor.
Detalhes técnicos
- The intrusion was detected on 23 April 2025. The scale was not established until 16 May 2025, and LAA online services were taken offline. They returned in December 2025 with ongoing problems.
- Exposed data varies by individual. It may include names, addresses, dates of birth, National Insurance numbers, financial details, legal proceedings, and criminal charges, pleas, convictions and sentences.
- Older material includes legal aid benefit assessments from 1978 to 2012 and Very High Cost Cases payments from 1981 to 2004.
- The probation records cover names, dates of birth, nationalities and case reference numbers. More than 99% relate to people under supervision in 2016 and 2017. No victim data is affected.
- The 250,000 figure is not a confirmed count of affected individuals. The MoJ attributes the delay in scoping to unstructured, fragmented and incomplete data across several complex systems.
- The initial access vector and the attacker are not stated.
Remediação
The MoJ says it has tightened authentication and access controls, improved security monitoring, addressed vulnerabilities, and begun retiring or isolating higher-risk technology. Legacy system modernization is underway. The article notes that the update does not explain why records from the 1970s remained accessible.
Linha do tempo
-
UK Legal Aid Agency breach found to include records back to 1978 and HMPPS probation data
ler a análise desta fonte ocultar
The UK government has disclosed that the April 2025 breach of the Legal Aid Agency (LAA) was larger than first reported. Around 250,000 stolen records predate 2007, with the oldest dating to 1978. The LAA had initially said the stolen data covered applications, claims and payments from 2007 onward. The Ministry of Justice (MoJ) also found that the attackers accessed HM Prison and Probation Service (HMPPS) data on offenders supervised between 2010 and 2017. The government says it has no indication that the data has been published or shared, and the article does not attribute the attack to any actor.
Technical Details
- The intrusion was detected on 23 April 2025. The scale was not established until 16 May 2025, and LAA online services were taken offline. They returned in December 2025 with ongoing problems.
- Exposed data varies by individual. It may include names, addresses, dates of birth, National Insurance numbers, financial details, legal proceedings, and criminal charges, pleas, convictions and sentences.
- Older material includes legal aid benefit assessments from 1978 to 2012 and Very High Cost Cases payments from 1981 to 2004.
- The probation records cover names, dates of birth, nationalities and case reference numbers. More than 99% relate to people under supervision in 2016 and 2017. No victim data is affected.
- The 250,000 figure is not a confirmed count of affected individuals. The MoJ attributes the delay in scoping to unstructured, fragmented and incomplete data across several complex systems.
- The initial access vector and the attacker are not stated.
Remediation
The MoJ says it has tightened authentication and access controls, improved security monitoring, addressed vulnerabilities, and begun retiring or isolating higher-risk technology. Legacy system modernization is underway. The article notes that the update does not explain why records from the 1970s remained accessible.